Sup Kids? Luk Here! LOL! Facebook Virus Warning
Posted by Teapot Army on August 7, 2008
There’s a Facebook virus that just hit… what, today? I have no idea, but it looks like most of the comments on this blog seem to be from today, so probably. Probably this last week?
The message basically reads something along the lines of:
“hi [your name], lol i cant believe is that you?
![]()
have a luk urself…
[Insert what appears to be a google link to a download; I'm leaving the link out because I didn't bother opening it and it would be retarded to leave it here for unsuspecting readers to open. Haha.]**
(click open or run when prompted)”
Aside from the really, really fucked up “Click open or run when prompted” (that sounds so…friendly! So intimate! Clearly, we’re quite close here), it’s ridiculous because that’s the only part of the message where everything seems to be spelled correctly. Ok. SURE. WILL DO. I’LL BE SURE TO RUN THIS SUSPICIOUS PROGRAM ON MY MACHINE.
Anyway, people are fucking retarded, and will more than likely download it, and we’ll all just keep infecting each other until we’ve managed to wipe ourselves off of the planet. So basically, we’re just going to turn the internet into America.
If I EVER left anyone a comment saying, “lol have a luk urself”, what I would really mean is “Please shoot me in the head for not being able to spell LOOK.”
I swear to fucking god, they HAVE to be getting poor migrant farmers from some tiny rural village in bumfuck China to write these things. Or teenagers. Whichever.
Either way, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.
** This was to protect the innocence of my more retarded friends. The link is actually “http://www.google.com.id.ewv1g6d2.ij4s0h.2b99df1a.cn/gallery.php?id=dd83hikzt&auth=9490559&cyua=iy2qpfpelm”. If you see this link, DON’T FUCKING CLICK AND DOWNLOAD IT. If you do, you deserve whatever hell it gives you.
[edit] Sounds like there are a few different links. One of the comments below cited “http://www.google.com.id.ft8s7b8n.9qie28.2b99df1a.cn/gallery.php?id=fx83wox9d&auth=4544912&cyua=majf63uvx9″.
[edit2] LOL. The link right above this edit, the one that ends in majf63uvx9, will apparently infect you as soon as you click on it. Whoops for putting it up. (I’m leaving it there, just to see if anyone else clicks on it despite this very, very obvious statement saying not to.)
[edit2.5] AND another. “http://www.google.com.id.2kcj3t2m.1um8b9.56982a17.cn/gallery.php?id=l18u1dj62&auth=1836653&cyua=9g5qckjlyd”. Remember, DON’T CLICK ON IT =/ These are just for reference purposes only.
[edit3] Just a note: if you’ve accidentally clicked on one of the links and are worried your computer may be infected, SEE THE COMMENTS on this article for help.
Also, here’s another horrible plague on mankind to watch out for on Facebook =|
Arik said
thanks for the link.
Did you receive the email as well? Did you see it on your wall?
Teapot Army said
Yeah, it hit my wall from someone I work with. At the library.
The library, man. AT A FUCKING LIBRARY. If people who work in libraries spell like that, the world really is going to end in 2012.
Arik said
Is there a chance that you can email me a screenshot of your wall?
Thanks.
Teapot Army said
Haha, I would if it was still there. I deleted it before any of my stupid friends clicked on it and bombed their computers thinking they were going to strike some sort of black mailing gold. Sorry man. =/ If I see someone else hit with it, I’ll be sure to nab a shot of it for ya.
edit: Agent T is lying – she doesn’t want to screenshot her Wall because she has no friends. ~M
^^^Agent M needs to fuck off before I have to get out my pimp slapping glove, in all honesty. -T
Arik said
Thanks!
Have a nice day
And don’t slap each other too hard…
Ben said
heya ppl – just got the virus too…
all i can suggest is :
delete the post, hide the story, warn the person from whom it was sent, and put in your facebook status in caps a warning, cos you never know har far it might spread…
A facebook virus… what next? I’m scared my teapot is gonna get shit and start rebelling too!
Bethany said
I received a different link on facebook:
http://www.google.com.id.ft8s7b8n.9qie28.2b99df1a.cn/gallery.php?id=fx83wox9d&auth=4544912&cyua=majf63uvx9
Teapot Army said
Ben: Don’t doubt the teapot. That’s about the only thing you CAN count on in this day and age. =| Teapot Army, man. We look out for our own.
And thank you to Bethany. Article updated.
Ben said
Never doubted the teapot army!
Peace, mate!
The link Bethany gave, you dont even need to say download, install, cancel, quit or anything, it comes just like that, as soon as you click on the link!
—————
Antivir, thankfully, has bounced it saying :
C:\Douments and Settings\Ben\…\picture_dl[1].exe
Contains recognition pattern of the DR/Delphi.Gen dropper
—————
Hope it helps the crew!
B.
Teapot Army said
Thanks Ben, I’ll put up another warning for that particular link. I bet, BET, that someone will click on it despite the warning anyway, but…
Hi, It’s Me, Your Facebook Girlfriend! « The Teapot Army said
[...] Posts Sup Kids? Luk Here! LOL! Facebook Virus WarningThere’s a Dinosaur in my Office (or, What the Fuck Happened to my Childhood?)About TPAWatch Me Make [...]
sarah said
so does anything happen if you just click on the link, but don’t download it? how can you check if you have it or if the hacker’s using your facebook to spread it to your friends?
Teapot Army said
Hi Sarah!
If you clicked on a link but declined the download, it shouldn’t have done you any harm – unless what you clicked on downloaded automatically. (It’s worth noting that the links are NOT google addresses, but rather a phishing site dressed up to look like google.)
From what I can tell, when you click the link the virus downloads a file to your PC which acts as some kind of spyware or whatever. If you’re worried your computer may have been infected, you can check by doing a Windows search for ANY files containing “picture_dl” (that’s the name of the download file).
If you have the file, delete it immediately and you should be fine – but the best thing to do in these situations is always to RUN A VIRUS SCAN on your whole system using whatever antivirus software you have installed, like Ben did above. It will safely get rid of any traces of a virus.
Hope that helps.
Amanda said
http://www.google.com.id.2kcj3t2m.1um8b9.56982a17.cn/gallery.php?id=l18u1dj62&auth=1836653&cyua=9g5qckjlyd
The above was yet another link posted on my wall. Just thought I’d put that out there.
Teapot Army said
Thank you Amanda! Article updated.
Ben said
Hello again!
Just to let you know that the virus has either got a cousin, or has gained power to mutate, cos I got a new wall post from a friend which says something along the lines of (this is one “she” – or it – posted on someone else’s wall) :
—————————
Hello [recipent's name],
Steve told me something that blew me away, he has been taking growth pills from http://gainhuge.com.cn/ for the past eight months, and he is the talk of the dorm, never had girls now i cant count the chicks he’s with. The pills actually do work, they are guaranteed to work or all your coin back, yes this is the real deal you need to try it for yourself to believe and you wont be sorry!.
http://gainhuge.com.cn/
—————————
If you read it carefully, it looks like it’s been roughly translated by an automate, from the mistakes and all…
I’ve crosssed the name steve in both friends’ lists, and neither the sender or the reipient have someone named steve in their friend list – so apparently the virus can’t access your facebook info… yet…
The virus seems to have spread to 11 of her friends, but from her notifications it doesn’t mention me, even though I got it, so lord knows how many people have really received it from her…
I have looked through the net (google, live search, ask, yahoo) for any threads concerning this new form of the virus, and haven’t found any, so I thought I’d comment about it here so that if anyone feels like looking it up theye might find it… And it keeps you up to date of course!
Ben.
Teapot Army said
Thanks ben; I’m going to throw that up in a separate post; do you have a personal blog of yours that I can credit or some such?
We really appreciate the update.
Another Facebook virus/spam… « The Teapot Army said
[...] Posts Korean Superstitions – AND YOU WILL DIESup Kids? Luk Here! LOL! Facebook Virus WarningThe Nintento Wii: Just Because Something Has Potential Doesn’t Mean it Won’t SuckHi, It’s Me, Your [...]
Another Facebook Virus / Spam… « The Teapot Army said
[...] Posts Sup Kids? Luk Here! LOL! Facebook Virus WarningKorean Superstitions – AND YOU WILL DIEHi, It’s Me, Your Facebook Girlfriend!Six degrees of TITS OR [...]